Verbieann Hardy
Apr 29, 2024

--

Judy, Thank you for your personal story.

Like your children, I grew up in a strict christian home . Sparing the rod was not a weakness of my parents. Despite this, my eight siblings became christians , some even pastors of different denominations. Two of them, when preteens ,tried to run away to a foreign country , were discovered and returned home within the day, deprived of more adventures. Mockery from siblings and a private talk with Dad prevented another attempt.

No question was too sacred, silly or challenging. Sometimes, as a teenager, we asked saucy questions. My dad answered- my parents listened and allowed us to express our points of view.

I remain grateful for their tolerance despite the rigid rules etc.

Compassion, commonsense and Christlike humility helped us all.

--

--

Verbieann Hardy

Striving to follow Jesus. I write about life, faith, and relationships as I age with grateful grit. Please support my work through Ko-fi.com/eclectic stories.